Rice University logo
Top blue bar image Cognitive Sciences

The requirements for the Cognitive Sciences major have changed, effective Fall 2016. Students who matriculated prior to 2016 may graduate under either the new or the old requirements.


There are two primary changes:


  • The number of Core areas is now 8
  • Only six additional courses are required beyond the core


Thus, 14 courses are required to complete the Cognitive Sciences major.